News Flash

Springfield-Greene County Park Board News

Posted on: July 11, 2019

Springfield Lasers media credentialing Sunday, 5:30-6:15 p.m.


Springfield, MO — The World TeamTennis defending champions Springfield Lasers' home season begins Sunday, July 14, 7 p.m. at Cooper Tennis Complex, 2331 E. Pythian St. The seven-match home season continues through July 31.

Media credentialing takes at the front desk of Cooper Tennis Complex Sunday, July 14, 5:30-6:15 p.m. If your organization is not able to pick up credentials at this time, please contact Jenny Fillmer Edwards jfedwards@springfieldmo.govat 417-224-5510 (mobile) to make special arrangements. 

All members of the media must wear World TeamTennis media credentials to enter Cooper Tennis Complex prior to and during Springfield Lasers home matches. Only credentialed members of the media with press ID may obtain credentials. 

The World TeamTennis League is no longer printing media guides available in previous seasons. A PDF of the 2019 WTT Media Guide may be viewed and downloaded at, found under About Us — About the Lasers. Player profiles and additional information is found at

New this year, WTT uses traditional tennis scoring: 15, 30, 40, game, rather than the 1,2,3, game used in previous seasons. Scoring remains no-ad, so all games, sets and Supertiebreakers are won by a margin of one point. Additional rules may be found on pages 11-12 of the 2019 WTT Media Guide. or at Daily Supertiebreaker flyers with player line-ups are available on match day at Cooper Tennis Complex.

Also new this year, CBS Sports is the official television broadcast partner of WTT, airing 16 matches on CBS Sports Network, including the WTT semifinals on Aug. 2 and WTT Final on Aug. 3. Online streaming service ESPN+ will exclusively live stream 18 matches during the 2019 WTT season, with an additional 24 streaming on both ESPN+ and A full broadcast and streaming each of WTT’s 59 regular season matches in 2019 is available at

Longtime Springfield Lasers partner Mediacom Communications continues to shoot and broadcast most home matches live at on Mediacom MC22/85-5.

Springfield Lasers player info, season dates, tickets and more is available at News releases are also posted at

Lasers grandstand, box, season tickets and VIP packages are now available at Cooper Tennis Complex, 2331 E. Pythian St., or call Paul Nahon, Lasers General Manager, at 417-837-5800. Tickets are also available online at . Grandstand tickets are $10-$15.

Home dates include:

Sun., July 14 Season opener Philadelphia at Springfield, featuring Miomir Kecmanovic

Tues., July 16 Kids’ Night Orlando at Springfield, featuring Miomir Kecmanovic and Feliciano Lopez, early start at 6 p.m., gates and Kids’ Night activities begin at 4:30

Wed., July 17 New York at Springfield, featuring Miomir Kecmanovic

Thurs., July 18 Washington at Springfield, featuring Miomir Kecmanovic

Wed., July 24 San Diego at Springfield

Tues., July 30 Orange County at Springfield

Wed., July 31 Las Vegas at Springfield

All matches begin at 7 p.m., with gates opening at 5:30, except July 16, when the match begins at 6, gates open at 4:30. All home matches (except July 16) are broadcast locally live on Mediacom MC22/85-5. Home and away matches are live-streamed at and CBS Sports Network, check for details.


World TeamTennis showcases the best in professional tennis with eight teams in major markets competing in the innovative team format for the King Trophy, the League’s championship trophy named after tennis icon and founder Billie Jean King. Since the League's debut, virtually every major champion of the Open era has played WTT, including Andre Agassi, Venus and Serena Williams, Pete Sampras, Stefanie Graf, Andy Roddick, Kim Clijsters, Bob and Mike Bryan, Sloane Stephens, Martina Hingis, Maria Sharapova, Lindsay Davenport, John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors, Martina Navratilova, Chris Evert and Naomi Osaka. Owned by innovator Fred Luddy and entrepreneur Eric Davidson, WTT's 44th season plays from July 14 to July 31, with the league semifinals set for Aug. 2 and the finals Aug. 3. CBS Sports is the official television broadcast partner of WTT. WTT is one of five active U.S. pro sports leagues which has been in operation for more than 40 years, along with the NFL, NBA, NHL and MLB. Learn more at


The Springfield Lasers were established in 1996 by the late Harry Cooper, who gifted the team to the Springfield-Greene County Park Board. The Lasers are now one of the oldest teams in  WTT, managed by the Springfield-Greene County Park Board and playing home matches at Cooper Tennis Complex. The Lasers won their first WTT Championship in 2018, after making it to the WTT finals in 2014, 2013, 2009, 2001 and 1999.

For more information on Springfield Lasers, visit, or look for Springfield Lasers on Facebook or @SGFLasers on Twitter and Instagram

For media inquiries, contact Jenny Fillmer Edwards, Public Relations for the Springfield Lasers and Public Information Administrator for the Springfield-Greene County Park Board, at 417-224-5510 (mobile).

Facebook Twitter Email